The grand opening of The Saint John Golf Club was on July, 22, 1897 with close to 400 people, including dignitaries, in attendance. The original clubhouse was in a nearby cottage and the annual membership fee was $5.00. The original course was a five-hole layout with the longest hole being 200 yards. The course quickly became overcrowded and in 1901 was extended to a 9-hole layout of about 2000 yards.
In 1911, as a result of growing interest in the game, the course needed to expand once again and the decision was made to move the location to East Riverside on the banks of the Kennebecasis River. A 250 acre parcel of land owned by the Douglas Milk Farm was purchased for $7,000.00 to build a 9-hole course which would take two years to complete.
The Saint John Golf Club was incorporated as The Riverside Golf and Country Club in 1913 and opened for play the following season. The Golf Club rented a small house adjoining the railway station which served as its first clubhouse and the first tee was situated where the 18th green is today.
With the end of the First World War in 1918 and the return of men from the service, further expansion was required. A stately clubhouse was built and the decision was made, as money permitted, that the course would be increased to 18 holes. This took several years and was completed by the early 1930's.
The design of the course at that time was under the direction of world-renowned golf course architect, Donald Ross. He was responsible for shaping, refining and bringing the course to its current championship level.
On October 29, 1965 the name was changed to The Riverside Country Club. At this time, construction began on a new clubhouse which would accommodate curling.
The new clubhouse had only been opened seven days when on August 11, 1966 the old clubhouse burned down with the loss of several artifacts and club records. The clubhouse was extensively refurbished in 2006.
Today, the 6467 yard Championship lay-out with its pleasant blend of trees, hazards, bunkers and amazing views of the Kennebecasis River offers the golfer a truly memorable golf experience.