Twitter Facebook Instagram

Trophies of Riverside

Trophies of Riverside

Cody Trophy

Junior girls champion - first awarded in 1966, donated by Mrs. D.F. Cody - Contacting Sue Humphrey

McAvity Cup

Junior boys champion - donated by Mr. McAvity, first awarded in 1947.

Gray Cup

Husbands-wives, low net - Donated by Alex Gray, first awarded in 1934

John H. Steele Trophy

First awarded in 1949 as the Bradley Cup and held that name until 1992 - 18-hole tournament for senior men - John Steele is one of the best players to ever come out of Riverside, winning two N.B.-P.E.I. amateur titles, despite taking off several years to help raise his family. Steele also holds the distinction of competing in the first Canadian junior championship back in 1938 at the London Hunt Club in London, Ont.

Jack Cup

When the land for Riverside was purchased in 1911, Andrew Jack was one of three men to gather the $7,000 to purchase the land. This founding father could play, too. He won three club championships in 1907, 1908 and 1916. Before moving to East Riverside, the club was known as the Saint John Golf Club and operated in Millidgeville from 1897 to 1913.

Don Sinclair Invitational

Don Sinclair served as the head professional at Riverside from 1946 to 1978. Aside from being a highly respected club pro who was credited with raising the standard of his profession in the Atlantic Canada region, he was also a terrific player, having won the Canadian Assistant Professionals' crown in the 1940s. Sinclair's bronze likeness greets members as they enter the club today and for those who knew him, it often puts a smile on their face. Today's head professional, Don Connolly, was named after Sinclair, by his father Jim, who succeeded Sinclair and Sinclair's grandson, James, is Don's assistant. Confused...?

Tennant Cup

Donated by W.B. Tennant, a long-time member of Riverside who was one of the charter members of the Maritime Seniors Golf Association, which was founded in 1925. This handicap competition started in 1928. 

Thorne Cup

Donated by William Henry Thorne, who, along with his brother Arthur, co-founded W. H. Thorne Hardware on King Street in Saint John.  William Henry Thorne was a prominent Conservative politician and was eventually named to the Canadian Senate.  He died in 1923.

Stetson Cup

Henry N. Stetson was one of the original shareholders of the Riverside Country Club when it became incorporated in 1913. He also served as the club's original treasurer.

Father Holland Trophy

intermediate club champion, first awarded in 1946 - Named in honour of Father J. Walter Holland, who won the 1936 N.B.-PEI Amateur Championship. He was one of the more colourful characters during his competitive days at Riverside and became known as 'The Pirate', a reference to his competitive nature and his ability to pull victory from defeat.

Streeter Cup

Named in honour of  Val Streeter, a charter member of the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame. Not only was he an accomplished golfer - his resume included, among other notable achievements, 12 club championships and three N.B./P.E.I. amateur championships - he was also a great contributor to the club. In fact, he footed the bill for a redesign of the sixth and 13th holes. No. 6 used to be a straight-away par-4 and is now a dogleg right. No. 13 used to be a simple par-4 with one tee deck where the forward tees are today. It was 45 years ago this summer that the 'new' holes came into play.

Stavert Cup 

Paterson Cup 

Rose Bowl

The Rose bowl is a Maritime interclub competition founded in 1925 by Ashburn member Colonel Rose. The competition was played continuously until 1962 when it remained dormant until revived in 197 and is now among the most popular events for low handicap male golfers at Riverside. Qualifying to be on a Rose bowl team occurs curing the club championship qualifiers in the Spring.

Posted: March 20, 2017